Best Oil of Oregano Supplements
Oil of oregano labels are some of the most confusing in supplements. Here is how to read them, what the research supports, and how popular options compare on what is actually in the softgel.

Quick Summary
No swallowed oregano product has outcome data that would make it the best. The useful comparison is whether the label states real oil milligrams and carvacrol.
Labels we opened on October 21, 2026
| Feature | Oregano oil / serving | Carvacrol | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nature's Answer softgels | 150 mg | 7 mg | $23.99 / 90 softgels |
| Resilia | 6,000 mg figure, also called a fresh-herb equivalent | 165 mg | $34.99 per bag. Count per bag not listed. |
| MAJU with black seed | 300 mg in olive oil, plus 200 mg black seed oil | Not stated | $79.00 / 60 softgels |
| Nutricost | 300 mg of a 20:1 extract, plus 200 mg black seed oil | Not stated | $21.97 for 120 softgels (60 servings) |
| Piping Rock with black seed | 8,000 mg equivalent from 575 mg of the combined 65:1 oils | Not stated as milligrams | $11.99 / 120 softgels |
| Gaia liquid caps | Not stated in the product feed | Not stated | $27.89 / 60, $49.49 / 120, $62.99 / 180 |
| Micro Ingredients with black seed | Not stated. 2 softgels a day. | Not stated as milligrams | $18.99 listed for 75 (unavailable). $48.99 for 450. |
Nutricost says it is made in an NSF-certified, GMP facility. That is not the same as an NSF Certified for Sport seal on this product. Piping Rock's 575 mg is the blend of oregano extract and black seed oil, not oregano alone.
How to read an oil of oregano label
- Actual oil versus equivalent. An 8,000 mg claim usually counts a concentrate as if it were fresh herb or a weaker oil. Look for the plain milligrams of oil.
- Carvacrol milligrams or percent. If a brand states it, you can compare. If it does not, you cannot.
- Carrier oil. Most softgels dilute oregano oil in olive oil.
- Third-party testing. A current certificate of analysis is a document. A sentence that says third-party tested is a claim.
What has actually been studied
In a randomized trial of 75 adults with chronic sinus symptoms, an oregano-oil nasal spray beat fluticasone and placebo on a symptom score over 4 weeks. A 40-person pilot found improvement in perennial nasal-allergy symptoms with an oregano nasal spray. Those were sprays, not capsules.
Swallowed oil has only very small studies, including one 14-person open-label study with no placebo. Carvacrol capsule trials from one research group have not been widely replicated. Activity against bacteria in a dish is not a human result.
Side effects and safety
Heartburn, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhea, dizziness, or headache show up at higher doses. Allergic reactions are possible, especially with oregano, mint, or thyme allergy.
We could not reload the NIH LiverTox oregano monograph on October 21, 2026, so we are not quoting its pregnancy or liver wording. Ask a clinician before using oregano oil in pregnancy or while trying to conceive. Do not swallow undiluted essential oil.
Who this is for
Who Might Like This
- ✓Healthy adults who want a traditional herbal oil and accept limited evidence.
Who Should Consider Alternatives
- ×You take blood thinners or diabetes medication, or you have an oregano, mint, or thyme allergy.
- ×Pregnancy, trying to conceive, or giving this to a child.
Our verdict
If you buy oil of oregano, choose a label that states actual oil milligrams and carvacrol, and ideally links a certificate of analysis. Ignore equivalent headline numbers. The strongest human data is for a nasal spray, not a softgel.
Related guides
Sources
How we checked
On October 21, 2026, we checked Shopify feeds for Nature's Answer ($23.99, 150 mg oil, 7 mg carvacrol), Nutricost ($21.97, 300 mg of 20:1 extract, 200 mg black seed oil, 60 servings), Piping Rock ($11.99, equivalent of 8,000 mg from 575 mg of the 65:1 blend), MAJU, Resilia, Gaia (prices only; no milligrams in the feed), and Micro Ingredients (no oil milligrams; 75-count listed at $18.99 and unavailable, 450-count at $48.99).
We did not fill Gaia or Micro Ingredients dose cells. We did not treat a facility NSF line as a product certification.
Frequently Asked Questions
No product has clinical-outcome data that settles it. Choose on transparency: actual milligrams of oil, carvacrol stated, and a third-party certificate. On October 21, 2026, Nature's Answer listed 150 mg of oil and 7 mg of carvacrol. Resilia listed 165 mg of carvacrol.
Human evidence is limited. Small trials of an oregano nasal spray improved sinus and nasal-allergy symptom scores. Effects seen in a lab dish are not the same thing.
No dose is established for swallowed oregano oil. Follow the label and do not exceed it.
Usually an equivalent weight. Piping Rock states an 8,000 mg equivalent from 575 mg of oils. Resilia uses both an oil phrasing and a fresh-herb equivalent for its 6,000 mg figure.
It is often tolerated short-term. Stomach upset is common at higher doses. Ask a clinician before pregnancy. We did not quote LiverTox because the monograph text would not load.
No trial has tested them together. See our comparison.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Evident does not sell any of these products and uses no affiliate links.
