Herbal

Best Saffron Supplement

An evidence review of what a published trial pool measured, and how to read a saffron label. We are not naming a brand, and we are not recommending saffron for any condition.

By Evident Editorial•9 min read
✓ Updated November 3, 2026
Red saffron threads in a small dish beside plain unlabeled capsules on linen.
⚡

Quick Summary

The trial pool we opened measured symptom scores, not a product you can buy off a “best saffron” list. The same paper reports publication bias. A label should state extract milligrams. We are not picking a brand.

1Marx 2019 pooled 23 studies. Versus placebo, the effect size was g = 0.99 for depressive symptom scores and g = 0.95 for anxiety symptom scores.
2The same paper found evidence of publication bias and said the trials lacked regional diversity.
3The abstract does not give one dose for the whole pool, so this page does not print a milligram target.
4We did not open a safety monograph with a side-effect rate, so none is printed.

What the trials measured

Saffron is the dried stigma of Crocus sativus. Supplements are usually an extract, not a pinch of the spice.

Marx and colleagues (Nutrition Reviews, 2019) reviewed randomized trials of saffron supplementation and symptom scores for depression and anxiety, as an adjunct and as a single agent, against medicine or placebo. They included 23 studies. Compared with placebo, they reported a large effect size for depressive symptom scores (g = 0.99) and for anxiety symptom scores (g = 0.95). As an add-on to antidepressants, the depressive-symptom effect size was g = 1.23. Egger’s test found evidence of publication bias. The authors’ conclusion is that further trials are required because of that bias and a lack of regional diversity (Marx 2019).

Those are score differences in the studies that were published. They are not a finding that a jar in a shop will change how you feel, and they are not a reason to stop a prescribed medicine. The abstract we read does not state a single extract dose for the pool, so this page does not invent one.

How to read a saffron label

  • Extract milligrams per serving, and whether the extract is named and standardized. “Saffron” on the front can mean spice powder or a concentrate.
  • If the label names crocin, safranal, or another marker, that is a brand claim until a certificate of analysis shows the lot.
  • A proprietary blend that hides the saffron milligrams cannot be compared with a trial.
  • Price per serving only after the milligrams are on the panel. We are not printing prices. We did not open brand shops for this page.
  • A sentence that says “clinically studied” has to name the extract and the trial. A different extract is a different product.

Saffron supplement side effects

We looked for a regulator page that would let us quote a side-effect rate. The NCCIH URL we tried for saffron did not resolve on November 3, 2026, and the Marx 2019 abstract does not report an adverse-event rate for the pool. This page therefore does not print a percentage, a pregnancy rule, or a drug-interaction list from a source we did not open.

If you take a prescription, are pregnant, or are breastfeeding, ask a clinician before adding a concentrated extract. That is a general caution, not a finding from a monograph cited here.

Spice identity

Threads of the spice and a standardized extract are different things. We did not open a primary study of saffron adulteration that we were willing to cite, so this page does not give a “fake saffron” rate.

Our verdict

There is a published trial pool with large symptom-score effect sizes and a stated publication-bias problem. There is not, on this page, a best brand. Read the extract milligrams, ask for a certificate if the label names a marker compound, and do not treat a supplement as care for a mood disorder.

Sources

  1. Marx et al. Nutrition Reviews. 2019;77(8):557–571. PMID 31135916.

How we checked

On November 3, 2026 we read the PubMed abstract of Marx 2019. The effect sizes, the study count, the publication-bias sentence, and the absence of a pooled dose are from that abstract.

A National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health saffron URL we requested returned a 404, so no NCCIH safety line is quoted. No brand page was opened, so no price or proprietary extract is named.

Evident did not test saffron. No affiliate links.

Common Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

We are not naming one. Compare extract milligrams per serving, whether a marker such as crocin is stated, and whether a certificate of analysis matches the lot. A headline that says “saffron” without milligrams is not comparable to a trial.

Marx 2019 pooled 23 studies and reported large effect sizes on depressive and anxiety symptom scores versus placebo, plus a large effect when saffron was added to antidepressants. The same paper reported publication bias. That is not a treatment recommendation.

This page does not quote a rate. The abstract we read does not give one, and a regulator monograph we looked for did not load. Ask a clinician if you take other medicines or are pregnant.

The Marx 2019 abstract does not state one dose for the whole pool. We are not filling that gap with a number from a secondary article.

Related reading

This is an evidence review, not medical advice and not a treatment recommendation. Saffron supplements are not a substitute for care. Evident did not test these products and uses no affiliate links.