Best Magnesium Glycinate Supplements
A bottle that says 1,000 mg of magnesium glycinate can contain 100 mg of actual magnesium, or 500. We decoded the labels we could open so you can compare like for like.

Quick Summary
Compare elemental magnesium and a dose at or below 350 mg from supplements. Sleep evidence is real and small.
Labels checked October 21, 2026
| Feature | Elemental magnesium | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nature Made capsules | 200 mg, 2 capsules. 60 capsules is 30 servings. | $21.99 | About $0.73 per serving. Evident calculation. |
| Nutricost 210 mg | 210 mg, 3 capsules. 90 capsules is 30 servings. | $11.97 | About $0.40 per serving. |
| Nature's Answer | 360 mg of magnesium per serving. Capsules per serving not stated. | $25.99 / 90 capsules | Above 350 mg if one serving is the daily dose. Ask a clinician. |
| Micro Ingredients | 500 mg elemental, 3 capsules, 40 servings | $19.99 / 120 | Above the supplemental upper limit. About $0.50 per serving. |
| Carlyle gummies | 22 mg from 200 mg magnesium glycinate | $10.79 / 60 gummies | Gummies per serving not stated, so no price per serving. |
| Double Wood | Not stated in the product description | $19.95 | NSF Contents Certified, NSF/ANSI 173. Not Certified for Sport. |
Thorne's magnesium bisglycinate page did not return a clean dose or seal in the HTML we opened, so Thorne is omitted rather than listed with an unverified NSF for Sport badge.
What to look for
- The line that says Magnesium (as magnesium bisglycinate), in elemental milligrams.
- Whether the product is fully reacted. Some glycinate products are buffered with magnesium oxide. If the label does not say, we do not guess.
- A certification you can verify on NSF or USP's own site. A badge we cannot open is not listed.
- A dose you can split, at or below 350 mg supplemental magnesium unless your clinician says otherwise.
Benefits, briefly
Glycinate helps meet magnesium needs and is usually easier on the stomach than oxide. The sleep evidence is a small improvement in insomnia scores in a 155-person trial, plus a low-quality finding of about 17 minutes faster sleep onset in older adults. Full breakdown: glycinate vs citrate.
Side effects
Loose stools or nausea at higher doses. Avoid supplemental magnesium in kidney disease unless your clinician directs it. Space it from tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics and from bisphosphonates.
Who this is for
Who Might Like This
- ✓You want about 200 mg elemental and a label that states that number plainly.
Who Should Consider Alternatives
- ×You need a verified NSF for Sport or USP seal. We did not confirm one on the SKUs above.
- ×Kidney disease, or a serving that is already over 350 mg elemental.
Our verdict
For most people, about 200 mg elemental from a label that states the number is the straightforward choice. Nature Made and Nutricost both did that on October 21, 2026. Nutricost was the lower price per serving. Skip gummies if you need a meaningful dose: Carlyle's stated 22 mg. We are not naming a sport-certified winner because we did not verify that seal.
Related guides
Sources
How we checked
On October 21, 2026, we checked the product feeds for Nature Made glycinate, Nutricost, Nature's Answer, Micro Ingredients, Carlyle, and Double Wood. Elemental amounts are printed only when the brand stated them.
We did not confirm Thorne's elemental dose or an NSF Certified for Sport badge on the bisglycinate SKU, and we did not confirm a USP seal on the Nature Made glycinate SKU. Those seals are omitted.
Price per serving is our arithmetic from the stated bottle price and stated servings: $21.99/30, $11.97/30, and $19.99/40.
Frequently Asked Questions
Choose by elemental milligrams, a dose at or below 350 mg from supplements, and testing you can verify. In our October 21, 2026 label check, Nature Made (200 mg) and Nutricost (210 mg) stated a clear elemental dose. Nutricost was about $0.40 per serving.
Common labels provide about 100 to 350 mg elemental. 350 mg is the adult upper limit from supplements unless a clinician advises more.
Modestly. A 2025 trial found a small improvement in insomnia severity at 250 mg elemental per day, and the capsules also contained about 1.5 grams of glycine.
The gummy we checked, Carlyle, lists 22 mg of magnesium per serving. Capsules we checked listed 200 to 360 mg.
Yes, within the upper limit, unless you have kidney disease or a clinician advises otherwise.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Evident does not sell any of these products and uses no affiliate links.
