Best Shilajit Supplements
Shilajit is a tar-like resin from high mountain rock, used in Ayurveda for centuries. The human research is small and mostly one purified extract. Testing matters more than the format.

Quick Summary
The evidence is thin. If you try shilajit, the deciding factor is a current lot-specific test for heavy metals and microbes, plus a stated dose.
What has been studied
Keller and colleagues (Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 2019, doi:10.1186/s12970-019-0270-2) randomized 63 recreationally active men, 21 per group, to 250 mg a day, 500 mg a day, or placebo for 8 weeks. They measured whether a purified shilajit extract helped people hold onto strength after a fatiguing exercise test. That is a lab outcome in young active men, not a performance promise.
A 2016 trial (Pandit et al., Andrologia) is widely cited for testosterone in healthy men aged 45 to 55 using a purified extract. We did not re-download that paper on October 21, 2026, so this guide does not restate its percentages or claim the result is settled. One small, manufacturer-linked trial would not be enough even if the PDF had loaded.
Marketing lines about 84 minerals, cognition, or all-day energy do not have a controlled human trial behind them that we are willing to cite.
Resin, capsules, or gummies
- Resin is the traditional form. A pea-sized amount dissolved in warm water is hard to dose.
- Capsules match the way the studied extract was given, and the milligrams are printed.
- Gummies are convenient and often add other herbs and sugar. Check the shilajit milligrams. We did not confirm a gummy dose on October 21, so none is listed.
Labels we could read
| Feature | What the page states | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Double Wood resin | Resin standardized to 20% fulvic acid. No fillers, brand-stated. A certificate was not linked in the description we read. | $19.95 |
| Nature Made capsules | 50% fulvic acid. Clinically studied shilajit, extract name not stated, so we are not tying it to the Keller trial. One capsule twice daily. Also includes magnesium citrate, zinc, and folic acid. | $23.99 / 60 |
Lost Empire's page did not yield a clean price or a 100 mg serving in the HTML we opened, so it is omitted. We did not open a certificate of analysis for either product above.
Side effects and safety
The trials that exist report mostly mild stomach upset. The larger issue is quality. Raw shilajit can carry heavy metals and microbes. Buy a purified product with a lot-specific test. That is a buying rule, not an allegation about a brand named here.
Ask a clinician first if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, if you have high iron or hemochromatosis, a hormone-sensitive condition, or you take blood-pressure or blood-sugar medicine. Not for children.
Who this is for
Who Might Like This
- ✓Adult men who understand the research is a couple of small trials and who will only buy a product with a current certificate.
Who Should Consider Alternatives
- ×Pregnancy, children, iron overload, or no certificate you can open.
Our verdict
Shilajit has early, narrow evidence: small trials of a purified extract. Between the two labels we could read, Double Wood states a resin and a fulvic percent at $19.95, and Nature Made states 50% fulvic acid without naming the extract. Neither posted a certificate in the text we opened. Format matters less than that document.
Related guides
Sources
How we checked
On October 21, 2026, we re-opened the Keller 2019 abstract: 63 recreationally active men, 21 per group, 8 weeks, 250 mg and 500 mg versus placebo.
We checked Double Wood ($19.95, resin, 20% fulvic acid) and Nature Made ($23.99 / 60, 50% fulvic acid, extract name not stated, one capsule twice daily). We did not confirm a USP seal or a PrimaVie name on Nature Made, so neither is claimed.
We did not re-download the Pandit testosterone PDF, and Lost Empire's page did not yield a usable dose or price, so those details are omitted.
Frequently Asked Questions
The one with a lot-specific third-party test for heavy metals and microbes, a stated fulvic acid percent, and a clear dose. We could read those label facts for Double Wood and Nature Made. We could not open certificates for either.
A 2016 trial is often cited for that. We did not re-download it on October 21, 2026, so we are not restating its result. Even a positive small trial would need replication.
Resin is traditional and hard to dose. Capsules match the study format. We did not confirm a gummy milligram amount, so we are not recommending one.
Mild stomach upset in the trials that exist. The bigger risk is an untested product, not a side effect of a purified extract.
The strength trial used 250 or 500 mg a day of a purified extract. Follow the label of a product that states its dose.
Ashwagandha has more trials, mostly on stress and sleep scores. Shilajit's human evidence is narrower. See the ashwagandha guide.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Evident does not sell any of these products and uses no affiliate links.
